Macroeconomic Crises since 1870

Robert J. Barro, José F. Ursúa

NBER Working Paper No. 13940
Issued in April 2008

---- Acknowledgments ----

The National Science Foundation has supported this research. We thank for suggestions Olivier Blanchard, John Campbell, George Constantinides, Emmanuel Farhi, Xavier Gabaix, Claudia Goldin, Rustam Ibragimov, Dale Jorgenson, Greg Mankiw, Emi Nakamura, and Jón Steinsson. We appreciate the help with the financial data from Bryan Taylor of Global Financial Data. On the construction of the data base on GDP and personal consumer expenditure, we are grateful for comments and contributions from many people worldwide. A non-exhaustive list includes Roberto Cortés (Argentina); Felix Butschek, Anton Kausel, Felix Rauscher, Marcus Schleibecker, and Rita Schwarz (Austria); Frans Buelens, Erik Buyst, Jean-Jacques Heirwegh, Yves de Lombaerde, Kim Oosterlinck, Peter Scholliers, Yves Segers, Eric Vanhaute, and Guy Vanthemsche (Belgium); Claudio Haddad (Brazil); José Diaz and Eric Haindl (Chile); Adolfo Meisel, Carlos Posada, and Miguel Urrutia (Colombia); Jakob Madsen (Denmark); Riitta Hjerppe and Visa Heinonen (Finland); Claude Diebolt, Thomas Piketty, Gilles Postel-Vinay, and Pierre Villa (France); Carsten Burhop, Davide Cantoni, Nicola Fuchs-Schündeln, Albrecht Ritschl, Mark Spoerer, Beatrice Weder, and Guntram Wolff (Germany); Violetta Hionidou, George Kostelenos, and George Manolas (Greece); Guomundur Jónsson (Iceland); Mausumi Das, Ramesh Kolli, Bharat Ramaswami, Bhanoji Rao, Partha Sen, S. L. Shetty, Rohini Somanathan, and Nittala Subrahmanyasastry (India); Ann Booth, Pierre van der Eng, and Kees van der Meer (Indonesia); Stefano Fenoaltea (Italy); Yana Kandaiya, H.R.H. Raja Nazrin, and Wan Rahim Wan Ahmad (Malaysia); Aurora Gómez, Stephen Haber, Jaime de la Llata, and John Womack (Mexico); Marjan Balkestein, Ferry Lapré, Herman de Jong, Hein Klemann, Jan-Pieter Smits, and Jan Luiten van Zanden (Netherlands); Brian Easton, Anthony Endres, Les Oxley, Andrew Petty, Jakob Preston, Keith Rankin, Grant Scobie, and John Singleton (New Zealand); Ola Grytten and Karin Snesrud (Norway); José Robles (Peru); Ricardo Jose and Richard Hooley (Philippines); Luzia Estevens, Pedro Lains, and José Tavares (Portugal); Paul Gregory (Russia); Ichiro Sugimoto (Singapore); Olu Akimboade and Jon Inggs (South Africa); Myung-Soo Cha, Nak-Nyeon Kim, Mitsuhiko Kimura, Jong-Wha Lee, and Dwight Perkins (South Korea); Leandro Prados (Spain); Rodney Edvinsson (Sweden); Felix Andrist, Philippe Bacchetta, Stefan Gerlach, and Stefanie Schnyder (Switzerland); Sevket Pamuk (Turkey); and Jorge Alvarez and Inés Morales (Uruguay). Many other researchers provided invaluable contributions through their published work. All errors remain our own. The views expressed herein are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

return to bibliography page

NBER Videos

National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Ave., Cambridge, MA 02138; 617-868-3900; email:

Contact Us