The Economics of the America COMPETES Acts
Jeffrey L. Furman, Boston University and NBER

The America COMPETES Act (ACA) was one of the most salient bipartisan legislative achievements of the past decade, and potentially is one of the most notable pieces of science-and-innovation policy of the new millennium. However, limited systematic evaluation of the ACA has been undertaken to date. Furman provides an overview of the history, goals, and implementation of the 2007 America COMPETES Act and the 2010 America Competes Reauthorization Act. He highlights the initial aims of the Acts and examines the programs and policies that have received subsequent funding and support. Although the America COMPETES Act was introduced with bipartisan support, fanfare from the business community, and plaudits from the science policy community, the tangible outputs of the Act and its subsequent Reauthorization appear limited, although a number of notable programs have been created.



Below is a list of conference attendees.
Christopher Adams, Congressional Budget Office
Richard Alo, National Science Foundation
Gregorio Arevalo, Inter-American Development Bank
Suresh Balakrishnan, University System of Maryland
David N. Beede, U.S. Census Bureau
Magdalena Bennett, Columbia University
Stefano Bertuzzi
Brittany M. Bond, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Mark Boroush, National Science Foundation
Ike Brannon, Capital Policy Analytics
David Brazell, Department of the Treasury
Paul Brazhnik, National Institutes of Health
Tim Brennan, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Julie Carlson, Federal Trade Commission
Julia Cavalcante Fontes
Connie Chang, Consultant
David Croson, Michigan State University
Kevin Daly
Takis Damaskopoulos, European Institute of Interdisciplinary Research
Kathleen DeBoer, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
Edward Derrick, American Association for the Advancement of Science
Michael Donovan, National Institutes of Health
Jacqueline Dubois, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Greg Dybalski, Government Accountability Office
Dana Ervin, House Appropriations Committee
Chris Fall, Office of Naval Research
Christina Freyamn, SRI International
Duber Gomez-Fonseca, University of Houston-Downtown
Gary Guenther, Congressional Research Service
Anil K. Gupta, University of Maryland at College Park
Fizie Haleem, Montgomery County Department of Economic Development
William Hendrickson, Issues in Science and Technology
Robert Hershey, Robert L. Hershey, P.E.
Derek Hill, National Science Foundation
Arlene Holen, Technology Policy Institute
Matt Hourihan, American Association for the Advancement of Science
Cassandra Ingram, Bureau of the Census
John Jankowski, Social Security Administration
Kenan Jarboe
James Kadtke, National Nanotechnology Coordinating Office
Michael Kaufman, Department of the Treasury
Richard Kitei, National Institutes of Health
Kamilla Kohn Radberg, Chalmers University of Technology
Bhavya Lal, Science and Technology Policy Institute
David Langdon, Department of Commerce
Israel Lederhendler, National Institute of Health
Alfred Lee, National Telecommunications and Information Administration
Rolf Lehming, National Science Foundation
Richard Lempert, University of Michigan
James A. Lewis, Center for Strategic and International Studies
Nancy Lutz, National Science Foundation
Joseph Lyons, The Society of Government Economists
Neil MacDonald, Federal Technology Watch
Jeffrey Macher, Georgetown University
Eliot Maxwell, Johns Hopkins University
John Mayo, Georgetown University
Stephen Merrill, Duke University
Peter Meyer, Bureau of Labor Statistics
David Mitch, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Suzanne Munck, Federal Trade Commission
Nathan Musick, Congressional Budget Office
Chris Mustain, Council on Competitiveness
Charles Na, National Institutes of Health
Bonnie Nichols, National Endowment for the Arts
Leah Nichols, National Science Foundation
Jason O'Connor, Federal Trade Commission
Daniel R. O'Madigan, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Sabrina Pabilonia, Bureau of Labor Statistics
Carlo Pietrobelli, Inter-American Development Bank
Xin Qin, George Washington University
Ruth Raubitschek, Department of Justice
Andrew Reamer, George Washington University
Michael Richey, Scineer Scientific Engineering LLC
Juan Riveros, Quadrant Economics LLC
Sally Rood, National Governors Association
David Schimmelpfennig, Department of Agriculture
Johanna Schneider, National Institutes of Health
James A. Schuttinga, National Institutes of Health
Neil Shah
Stephanie S. Shipp, University of Virginia
Sujai Shivakumar, The National Academies
Randolph Sim, Georgetown University
Donald Spicer, University System of Maryland
James Spohrer, Almaden Research Center
Richard Stoddard, The Ohio State University
Miron Straf, Virginia Tech
Joseph Teter, Naval Surface Warfare Center
Joanne Tornow, National Science Foundation
Gerard Torres, Patent and Trademark Office
Richard Van Atta, Institute for Defense Analyses
Karl Varner, KJV Group
Katalin Vaughan, Fairfax County Economic Development Authority
Jack Wang, Government Accountability Office
Philip Webre, Congressional Budget Office
Howard Wial, The Brookings Institution
Brad Wible, Science Magazine
Timothy Wojan, National Science Foundation
Irene Wu, Federal Communications Commission
Patty Wu, C&M International
Loren Yager, Government Accountability Office
Lee Zia, National Science Foundation
David Zielinski, National Institutes of Health

More from NBER

In addition to working papers, the NBER disseminates affiliates’ latest findings through a range of free periodicals — the NBER Reporter, the NBER Digest, the Bulletin on Retirement and Disability, and the Bulletin on Health — as well as online conference reports, video lectures, and interviews.

Economics of Digitization Figure 1
  • Article
The NBER Economics of Digitization Project, established in 2010 with support from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation,...
  • Lecture
Claudia Goldin, the Henry Lee Professor of Economics at Harvard University and a past president of the American...
2020 Methods Lecture Promo Image
  • Lecture
The extent to which individual responses to household surveys are protected from discovery by outside parties depends...