Biographies

W. Michael Blumenthal is former U.S. secretary of the treasury and retired chairman and chief executive officer of Unisys Corporation.

Bankim Chadha is deputy division chief of the Emerging Markets Division in the Research Department of the International Monetary Fund.

Andrew Crockett is general manager of the Bank for International Settlements, Basel, Switzerland.

Kathryn M. Dominguez is associate professor of public policy at the University of Michigan and a faculty research fellow of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Sebastian Edwards is the Henry Ford II Professor at the Anderson Graduate School of Business, University of California, Los Angeles, and a research associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Robert C. Feenstra is professor of economics at the University of California, Davis, and a visiting professor at the Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley. He is the editor of the *Journal of International Economics*, and also the director of the International Trade and Investment program at the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Martin Feldstein is the George F. Baker Professor of Economics at Harvard University and the president of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Stanley Fischer is first deputy managing director of the International Monetary Fund.

David Folkerts-Landau is managing director and head of global research at Deutsche Bank.

Arminio Fraga is governor of the Central Bank of Brazil. At the time of the conference he was managing director at Soros Fund Management in New York and adjunct professor at Columbia University.

Stephen Friedman is a former chairman of Goldman, Sachs & Co. and is currently a senior principal of Marsh & McLennan Capital, Inc., and a director of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Peter M. Garber is professor of economics at Brown University and a research associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Francisco Gil Diaz is the chief executive officer of Avantel, a Mexican long-distance phone company. He was involved in central banking and taxation and continues his interest in teaching and economic research.

Carl H Hahn is chairman emeritus of Volkswagen, serves on various boards in North America and Europe, and is a consultant to the prime minister of Kyrgyzstan.

George N. Hatsopoulos is founder, chairman, and chief executive officer of Thermo Electron Corporation and an executive committee member of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Benjamin E. Hermalin is the Harold Furst Associate Professor of Management Philosophy and Values and chair of economic analysis and policy at the Haas School of Business and associate professor of economics, both at the University of California, Berkeley.

Takatoshi Ito is professor of economics at the Institute of Economic Research, Hitotsubashi University, and a research associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Mervyn King is deputy governor of the Bank of England.

Paul Krugman is the Ford International Professor of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a research associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Hans Peter Lankes is director of transition strategy at the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development.

Robert E. Lipsey is professor of economics emeritus at Queens College and The Graduate Center, City University of New York, and a research associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

William J. McDonough is president and chief executive officer of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York and chairman of the Basle Committee on Banking Supervision.

Roberto G. Mendoza is vice-chairman of J. P. Morgan & Co. Incorporated.

David W. Mullins, Jr., was formerly vice-chairman of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System.

Moeen Qureshi is chairman of Emerging Markets Partnership, an asset management company based in Washington, D.C., that he cofounded in 1992. He was formerly senior vice-president and chief of operations at the World Bank and chief operating officer of the International Finance Corporation. He also served as prime minister of Pakistan for an interim period in 1993.

Kenneth Rogoff is the Charles and Marie Robertson Professor of International Affairs at Princeton University and a research associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Andrew K. Rose is the B. T. Rocca Jr. Professor of International Trade, Economic Analysis, and Policy at the Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley; acting director of the International Finance and Macroeconomics program at the National Bureau of Economic Research; and a research fellow of the Centre for Economic Policy Research, London.

Nicholas Stern is chief economist and special counselor to the president of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development and a visiting professor at the London School of Economics.

René M. Stulz holds the Reese Chair in Banking and Monetary Economics at Ohio State University and is a research associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Linda L. Tesar is associate professor of economics at the University of Michigan and a faculty research fellow of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Jiří Weigl is an adviser to the Speaker of the Parliament of the Czech Republic and to former prime minister Václav Klaus.

Masaru Yoshitomi is dean of the Asian Development Bank Institute.

Zhang Shengman is managing director and corporate secretary of the World Bank Group.

This Page Intentionally Left Blank