Biographies

Montek S. Ahluwalia is the first director of the newly created Independent Evaluation Office at the International Monetary Fund. At the time of the conference, Ahluwalia was a member of the Planning Commission in New Delhi as well as a member of the Economic Advisory Council to the prime minister.

Jack Boorman is counsellor and special advisor, and at the time of the conference was director of the Policy Development and Review Department, at the International Monetary Fund and one of the senior staff directly involved in the fund's response to the crises of the last five years.

Domingo F. Cavallo is honorary president of Fundación Mediterránea. He has been minister of foreign affairs and later minister of finance of Argentina (1989–96). He created his political party, Accion por la Republica, in 1997 and was elected national congressman until he was appointed to be minister of economy in March 2001, a position he resigned in December 2001.

William R. Cline is senior fellow jointly at the Institute for International Economics and the Center for Global Development in Washington, D.C. During 1996–2001, while on leave from the Institute, Cline was deputy managing director and chief economist of the Institute of International Finance in Washington, D.C.

E. Gerald Corrigan, former president of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York, is a managing director at Goldman Sachs & Co.

Andrew Crockett is general manager of the Bank for International Settlements, Basel, Switzerland, and chairman of the Financial Stability Forum.

John Crow is former governor of the Bank of Canada. In 1999 he chaired a committee of independent experts that evaluated International Monetary Fund surveillance.

Charles Dallara has been managing director of the Institute of International Finance since 1993 and was formerly a U.S. executive director of the International Monetary Fund.

Michael P. Dooley is professor of economics at the University of California, Santa Cruz, and a research associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research. He has been a staff member at the board of governors of the Federal Reserve and the International Monetary Fund.

Sebastian Edwards is the Henry Ford II Professor of International Business Economics at the Anderson Graduate School of Management at the University of California, Los Angeles, and a research associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Martin Feldstein is the George F. Baker Professor of Economics at Harvard University and President of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Stanley Fischer served as first deputy managing director of the International Monetary Fund from September 1994 to August 2001 and as special adviser to the managing director from 1 September 2001 until 31 January 2002. He is currently vice-chairman of Citigroup, Inc.

Arminio Fraga is governor of the Central Bank of Brazil.

Jeffrey A. Frankel is the Harpel Chair at Harvard University's Kennedy School of Government and directs the National Bureau of Economic Research program in International Finance and Macroeconomics. During the crises of 1997–99, he was a member of President Clinton's Council of Economic Advisers.

Jacob A. Frenkel is president of Merrill Lynch International, former governor of the Bank of Israel, and a research associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Peter Garber is global strategist in Deutsche Bank's Global Markets Research.

Timothy F. Geithner is director of the Policy Development and Review Department at the International Monetary Fund. He was previously undersecretary for international affairs at the U.S. Department of the Treasury.

Morris Goldstein is the Dennis Weatherstone Senior Fellow at the Institute for International Economics and a former deputy director of research at the International Monetary Fund.

Takatoshi Ito is professor in the Institute of Economic Research at Hitotsubashi University, Tokyo, and a research associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Karen Johnson is director of the Division of International Finance at the Federal Reserve board of governors.

Paul Keating is former prime minister of Australia.

Mervyn King is deputy governor of the Bank of England.

Anne O. Krueger is first deputy managing director of the International Monetary Fund and a research associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

John Langlois is professor of East Asian Studies at Princeton University. He is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and the director of the Bank of Shanghai. He is also the president of the Center for International Political Economy (New York).

David Lipton is managing director at the Moore Capital Strategy Group in Washington, D.C. He served at the U.S. Treasury from 1993 to 1998, most recently as undersecretary for international affairs.

John McHale is associate professor of economics at Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario.

Roberto G. Mendoza is co-chief executive officer of Hancock, Mendoza, Dachille & Merton, Ltd. (HMDM). Mendoza joined JPMorgan & Co. in 1967 and served as vice-chairman of the board from 1990 to 2000. He joined Goldman Sachs & Co. in 2000 as a managing director and resigned in 2001 to cofound HMDM.

Frederic S. Mishkin is the Alfred Lerner Professor of Banking and Financial Institutions at the Graduate School of Business, Columbia University, and a research associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Manuel Montes is a program officer at the Ford Foundation.

Guillermo Ortiz is governor of the Banco de Mexico, and during the period 1995–97 he was finance minister of Mexico.

Yung Chul Park is professor of economics at Korea University. He is currently serving as ambassador for International Economy and Trade, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, and also chairman of the board, the Korea Exchange Bank in Seoul, Korea.

Nouriel Roubini is associate professor of economics and international business at the Stern School of Business, New York University, and a research associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Robert Rubin is the former secretary of the U.S. Treasury and is currently director, chairman of the executive committee, and member of the office of the chairman of Citigroup, Inc.

Jeffrey D. Sachs is director of the Center for International Development at Harvard University and a research associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Ammar Siamwalla is distinguished scholar at the Thailand Development Research Institute.

George Soros is president and chairman of Soros Fund Management LLC, a private investment management firm, which serves as principal investment advisor to the Quantum Group of Funds, a series of international investment vehicles.

Nicholas Stern is chief economist and senior vice-president of Development Economics at the World Bank.

Lawrence Summers is president of Harvard University and former U.S. Treasury secretary.

Edwin Truman is a senior fellow at the Institute for International Economics in Washington, D.C. He served as assistant secretary of the U.S. Treasury for International Affairs from December 1998 to January 2001.

Paul Volcker is former chairman of the Federal Reserve board and chairman of the Group of Thirty.

Martin Wolf is associate editor and chief economics commentator of the *Financial Times*, London.

Lin See Yan is CEO of an independent strategic consultancy based in Malaysia. He is also pro-chancellor of Universiti Sains Malaysia and professor of economics at University Utara Malaysia. He was formerly deputy governor of Central Bank of Malaysia.