The Economics of Information and Uncertainty



A Conference Report Universities-National Bureau Committee for Economic Research

Number 32

The Economics of Information and Uncertainty

Edited by John J. McCall



The University of Chicago Press

Chicago and London

JOHN J. McCall is professor of economics at the University of California, Los Angeles, and a consultant at the RAND Corporation. He is the author (with Dale Jorgenson and Roy Radner) of Optimal Replacement Policy and Income Mobility, Racial Discrimination, and Economic Growth and the editor (with Steve Lippman) of Studies in the Economics of Search.

The University of Chicago Press, Chicago 60637 The University of Chicago Press, Ltd., London

© 1982 by the National Bureau of Economic Research All rights reserved. Published 1982 Printed in the United States of America 89 88 87 86 85 84 83 82 5 4 3 2 1

Library of Congress Cataloging in Publication Data Main entry under title:

The Economics of information and uncertainty.

(A Conference report / Universities—National Bureau Committee for Economic Research; no. 32) Bibliography: p. Includes indexes.

- 1. Uncertainty (Information theory)—Congresses.
- 2. Risk—Congresses. 3. Economics—Decision making—Statistical methods—Congresses. I. McCall, John Joseph, 1933- II. Series: Conference report (Universities—National Bureau Committee for Economic Research)

HB133.E34 338.5 81-15930 ISBN 0-226-55559-3 AACR2

National Bureau of Economic Research

Officers

Eli Shapiro, chairman Franklin A. Lindsay, vice-chairman Martin Feldstein, president David G. Hartman, executive director Charles A. Walworth, treasurer Sam Parker, director of finance and administration

Directors at Large

Moses Abramovitz George T. Conklin, Jr. Morton Ehrlich Martin Feldstein Edward L. Ginzton David L. Grove Walter W. Heller Franklin A. Lindsay
Roy E. Moor
Geoffrey H. Moore
Michael H. Moskow
James J. O'Leary
Peter G. Peterson
Robert V. Roosa
M

Richard N. Rosett Bert Seidman Eli Shapiro Stephen Stamas Lazare Teper Donald S. Wasserman Marina v.N. Whitman

Directors by University Appointment

Charles H. Berry, Princeton
Otto Eckstein, Harvard
Walter D. Fisher, Northwestern
J. C. LaForce, California, Los Angeles
Paul McCracken, Michigan
Daniel McFadden, Massachusetts Institute
of Technology
Almarin Phillips, Pennsylvania

James L. Pierce, California, Berkeley Nathan Rosenberg, Stanford James Simler, Minnesota James Tobin, Yale William S. Vickrey, Columbia Dudley Wallace, Duke Burton A. Weisbrod, Wisconsin Arnold Zellner, Chicago

Directors by Appointment of Other Organizations

Carl F. Christ, American Economic
Association
Robert C. Holland, Committee for
Economic Development
Stephan F. Kaliski, Canadian Economics
Association
Albert G. Matamoros, National Association of Business Economists
Douglass C. North, Economic History
Association

Rudolph A. Oswald, American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations
Joel Popkin. American Statistical Association
G. Edward Schuh, American Agricultural

Economics Association

James C. Van Horne, American Finance
Association

Charles A. Walworth, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants

Directors Emeriti

Arthur Burns Emilio G. Collado Solomon Fabricant Frank Fetter Thomas D. Flynn Gottfried Haberler Albert J. Hettinger, Jr. George B. Roberts Murray Shields Boris Shishkin Willard L. Thorp Theodore O. Yntema

Since this volume is a record of conference proceedings, it has been exempted from the rules governing critical review of manuscripts by the Board of Directors of the National Bureau (resolution adopted 6 July 1948, as revised 21 November 1949 and 20 April 1968).

Universities-National Bureau Committee for Economic Research

This committee is a cooperative venture of universities and the National Bureau. Its guiding objective is the encouragement of economic research on problems susceptible of objective treatment and of sufficiently broad scope to merit attention by institutions serving a scientific and public interest.

Participating Universities and Their Representatives

Brown, Jerome L. Stein California (Berkeley), Daniel McFadden California (Los Angeles), J. C. La Force California (San Diego), Robert E. Engle Carnegie-Mellon, Edward C. Prescott Chicago, Lester G. Telser Columbia, Robert Mundell Cornell, S. C. Tsiang Duke, T. Dudley Wallace Harvard, John V. Lintner Illinois, Robert Resek Indiana, Franz Gehrels Iowa State, Dudley G. Luckett Johns Hopkins, Carl F. Christ Maryland, Barbara Bergman Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Richard S. Eckaus McGill, Alex G. Vicas Michigan, Harold T. Shapiro Michigan State, Victor Smith Minnesota, James M. Henderson

New School for Social Research, Thomas Vietorisz New York, M. Ishaq Nadiri New York State (Buffalo), Daniel Hamberg North Carolina, Henry A. Latané Northwestern, Robert Eisner Ohio State, Donald O. Parsons Pennsylvania, Jere R. Behrman Pittsburgh, S. H. Chou Princeton, Edwin S. Mills Purdue, Patric H. Hendershott Queen's, Martin F. J. Prachowny Rochester, Walter Y. Oi Stanford, Moses Abramovitz Texas, Samuel L. Myers, Jr. Toronto, Richard Bird Vanderbilt, Anthony M. Tang Virginia, Richard T. Selden Washington (Saint Louis), Hyman Minsky Washington (Seattle), Richard W. Parks Wisconsin, Leonard W. Weiss Yale, Richard Ruggles

National Bureau of Economic Research Representative

Robert E. Lipsey

Members at Large

Irma Adelman Bela A. Balassa

Daniel Creamer Frank de Leeuw Walter S. Salant George J. Stigler

Carl E. Beigie

The officers of the Universities-National Bureau Committee are: Edwin S. Mills, chairman; Leonard W. Weiss, vice-chairman; and Christine Mortensen, secretary. The members of the Executive Committee are: Irma Adelman, Richard Bird, Robert Eisner, Robert E. Lipsey, Dudley G. Luckett, Edwin S. Mills, and Leonard W. Weiss.

Contents

	Prefatory Note	ix
	Introduction John J. McCall	xi
1.	Asset Prices in a Production Economy William A. Brock Comment: Edward C. Prescott	. 1
2.	Planning and Market Structure Dennis W. Carlton Comment: Jean-Jacques Laffont Comment: Joseph M. Ostroy	47
3.	Statistical Decision Theory Requiring Incentives for Information Transfer Jerry R. Green Comment: Andrew Postlewaite Comment: John G. Riley	77
4.	Corporate Financial Structure and Managerial Incentives Sanford J. Grossman and Oliver D. Hart Comment: Hayne E. Leland	107
5.	A Competitive Entrepreneurial Model of a Stock Market Richard E. Kihlstrom and Jean-Jacques Laffont Comment: David Levhari	141

6.	Multiperiod Securities and the Efficient Allocation of Risk: A Comment on the Black-Scholes Option Pricing Model David M. Kreps	n 203
7.	The Matching Process as a Noncooperative Bargaining Game Dale T. Mortensen Comment: Peter Diamond Comment: Steven A. Lippman	233
8.	The Capacity Expansion Process in a Growing Oligopoly: The Case of Corn Wet Milling Michael E. Porter and A. Michael Spence Comment: Sidney G. Winter	259
	List of Contributors	317
	Author Index	319
	Subject Index	321

Prefatory Note

This volume contains the papers presented at the Conference on the Economics of Information and Uncertainty held in Boston, 14–16 June 1979, sponsored by the Universities–National Bureau Committee for Economic Research. Funds for the conference were provided by the National Science Foundation; we are indebted for its support. We also thank John J. McCall, who served as chairman of the conference and editor of this volume.

Executive Committee, June 1979
Edwin S. Mills, chairman
Irma Adelman
Richard Bird
Robert Eisner
Dudley G. Luckett
Leonard W. Weiss
Robert E. Lipsey, NBER
representative

