This PDF is a selection from an out-of-print volume from the National Bureau of Economic Research

Volume Title: The Interpolation of Time Series by Related Series

Volume Author/Editor: Milton Friedman

Volume Publisher: NBER

Volume ISBN: 0-87014-422-7

Volume URL: http://www.nber.org/books/frie62-1

Publication Date: 1962

Chapter Title: Front matter, The Interpolation of Time Series

by Related Series

Chapter Author: Milton Friedman

Chapter URL: http://www.nber.org/chapters/c2061

Chapter pages in book: (p. -4 - 0)

# THE INTERPOLATION OF TIME SERIES BY RELATED SERIES

MILTON FRIEDMAN
University of Chicago



This report is a study by the National Bureau of Economic Research. It is reprinted from the December 1962 issue of

The Journal of the American Statistical Association

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CATALOG CARD NUMBER 63-11081

Price: \$0.75

NATIONAL BUREAU OF ECONOMIC RESEARCH, INC. 261 Madison Avenue, New York 16, N. Y.

## RELATION OF THE DIRECTORS TO THE WORK AND PUBLICATIONS OF THE NATIONAL BUREAU OF ECONOMIC RESEARCH

- 1. The object of the National Bureau of Economic Research is to ascertain and to present to the public important economic facts and their interpretation in a scientific and impartial manner. The Board of Directors is charged with the responsibility of ensuring that the work of the National Bureau is carried on in strict conformity with this object.
- 2. To this end the Board of Directors shall appoint one or more Directors of Research.
- 3. The Director or Directors of Research shall submit to the members of the Board, or to its Executive Committee, for their formal adoption, all specific proposals concerning researches to be instituted.
- 4. No report shall be published until the Director or Directors of Research shall have submitted to the Board a summary drawing attention to the character of the data and their utilization in the report, the nature and treatment of the problems involved, the main conclusions, and such other information as in their opinion would serve to determine the suitability of the report for publication in accordance with the principles of the National Bureau.
- 5. A copy of any manuscript proposed for publication shall also be submitted to each member of the Board. For each manuscript to be so submitted a special committee shall be appointed by the President, or at his designation by the Executive Director, consisting of three Directors selected as nearly as may be one from each general division of the Board. The names of the special manuscript committee shall be stated to each Director when the summary and report described in paragraph (4) are sent to him. It shall be the duty of each member of the committee to read the manuscript. If each member of the special committee signifies his approval within thirty days, the manuscript may be published. If each member of the special committee has not signified his approval within thirty days of the transmittal of the report and manuscript, the Director of Research shall then notify each member of the Board, requesting approval or disapproval of publication, and thirty additional days shall be granted for this purpose. The manuscript shall then not be published unless at least a majority of the entire Board and a two-thirds majority of those members of the Board who shall have voted on the proposal within the time fixed for the receipt of votes on the publication proposed shall have approved.
- 6. No manuscript may be published, though approved by each member of the special committee, until forty-five days have elapsed from the transmittal of the summary and report. The interval is allowed for the receipt of any memorandum of dissent or reservation, together with a brief statement of his reasons, that any member may wish to express; and such memorandum of dissent or reservation shall be published with the manuscript if he so desires. Publication does not, however, imply that each member of the Board has read the manuscript, or that either members of the Board in general, or of the special committee, have passed upon its validity in every detail.
- 7. A copy of this resolution shall, unless otherwise determined by the Board, be printed in each copy of every National Bureau book.

#### NATIONAL BUREAU OF ECONOMIC RESEARCH

#### 1962

#### OFFICERS

Harold M. Groves, Chairman Arthur F. Burns, President. Albert J. Hettinger, Jr., Vice-President Donald B. Woodward, Treasurer Solomon Fabricant, Director of Research Geoffrey H. Moore, Associate Director of Research Hal B. Lary, Associate Director of Research William J. Carson, Executive Director

#### DIRECTORS AT LARGE

Robert B. Anderson, New York City
Wallace J. Campbell, Nationwide Insurance
Erwin D. Canham, Christian Science Monitor
Solomon Fabricant, New York University
Marion B. Folsom, Eastman Kodak Company
Crawford H. Greenewalt, E. I. du Pont de
Nemours & Company
Gabriel Hauge, Manufacturers Hanover Trust
Company
A. J. Hayes, International Association of
Machinists
Albert J. Hettinger, Jr., Lazard Frères and
Company

Nicholas Kelley, Kelley Drye Newhall Maginnes & Warren H. W. Laidler, League for Industrial Democracy George B. Roberts, Larchmont, New York Harry Scherman, Book-of-the-Month Club Boris Shishkin, American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations George Soule, South Kent, Connecticut Joseph H. Willits, Armonk, New York Donald B. Woodward, A. W. Jones and Company
Theodore O. Yntema, Ford Motor Company

#### DIRECTORS BY UNIVERSITY APPOINTMENT

V. W. Bladen, Toronto Arthur F. Burns, Columbia Lester V. Chandler, Princeton Melvin G. de Chazeau, Cornell Frank W. Fetter, Northwestern R. A. Gordon, California Harold M. Groves, Wisconsin Gottfried Haberler, Harvard Walter W. Heller, Minnesota
Maurice W. Lee, North Carolina
Lloyd G. Reynolds, Yale
Paul A. Samuelson, Massachusetts Institute
of Technology
Theodore W. Schultz, Chicago
Willis J. Winn, Pennsylvania

### DIRECTORS BY APPOINTMENT OF OTHER ORGANIZATIONS

Percival F. Brundage, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants Harold G. Halcrow, American Farm Economic Association Theodore V. Houser, Committee for Economic Development S. H. Ruttenberg, American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations

Murray Shields, American Management
Association
Willard L. Thorp, American Economic
Association
W. Allen Wallis, American Statistical
Association
Harold F. Williamson, Economic History
Association

#### DIRECTORS EMERITI

Shepard Morgan, Norfolk, Connecticut

N. I. Stone, New York City

#### RESEARCH STAFF

Moses Abramovitz
Gary S. Becker
William H. Brown, Jr.
Gerhard Bry
Arthur F. Burns
Phillip Cagan
Joseph W. Conard
Frank G. Dickinson
James S. Earley
Richard A. Easterlin
Solomon Fabricant
Milton Friedman

Victor R. Fuchs
Raymond W. Goldsmith
Challis A. Hall, Jr.
Millard Hastay
Daniel M. Holland
Thor Hultgren
F. Thomas Juster
C. Harry Kahn
Irving B. Kravis
Hal B. Lary
Robert E. Lipsey
Ruth P. Mack

Jacob Mincer
Ilse Mintz
Geoffrey H. Moore
Roger F. Murray
Ralph L. Nelson
G. Warren Nutter
Richard T. Selden
Lawrence H. Seltzer
Robert P. Shay
George J. Stigler
Norman B. Ture
Herbert B. Woolley