This PDF is a selection from an out-of-print volume from the National Bureau of Economic Research

Volume Title: Measuring Transactions Between World Areas

Volume Author/Editor: Herbert B. Woolley

Volume Publisher: NBER

Volume ISBN: 0-870-14155-4

Volume URL: http://www.nber.org/books/wool66-1

Publication Date: 1966

Chapter Title: Glossary

Chapter Author: Herbert B. Woolley

Chapter URL: http://www.nber.org/chapters/c1563

Chapter pages in book: (p. 151)

## GLOSSARY

BIS—Bank for International Settlements.

- Continental-oriented countries—Continental OEEC countries, Continental Overseas Territories (except Netherlands Antilles), Iceland, Argentina, Paraguay, Uruguay, Other Europe, Soviet Bloc, Syria, Lebanon, and Egypt.
- Cont. OEEC—countries that were members of the OEEC, except U.K., Ireland, and Iceland.
- Cont. OT's (or OT's)—Continental Overseas Territories: Belgian, French, Dutch, and Portuguese Overseas Territories (excluding Indonesia, but including Netherlands Antilles and French Indochina) in the early 1950's.
- Dollar Latin America—Bolivia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, and Venezuela.
- EPU—European Payments Union, an international financial clearing union of the OEEC countries in the early 1950's.
- GATT-General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade.
- IBRD—International Bank for Reconstruction and Development.
- IMF-International Monetary Fund.
- IO—International Organizations located in the U.S.: IMF, IBRD, and U.N.
- Nondollar Latin America—Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Paraguay, Peru, and Uruguay.
- Nonsterling EPU area—Continental countries and their Overseas Territories in the early 1950's.
- OEEC—Organization for European Economic Cooperation in the early 1950's: U.K., Ireland, Iceland, Belgium, France, West Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Austria, Switzerland, Trieste, Greece, Turkey, and Portugal.

- OEH—Other Eastern Hemisphere: Eastern Hemisphere except Western Europe (i.e., Rest of Sterling Area, Overseas Territories, and Other Countries).
- OT's-see Cont. OT's.
- Other Countries—Other Europe, Soviet Bloc, and nonsterling countries in Middle East, Africa, and Far East.
- Other Europe—Spain and possessions, Finland, and Yugoslavia.
- OWH—Other Western Hemisphere: Western Hemisphere except U.S. (i.e., Canada, Latin America, and International Organizations).
- Own Currency Area—partner area for transactions between Belgium, France, the Netherlands, and Portugal and their own Overseas Territories. (Note that transactions of Own Currency Areas with Own Currency Areas are not included in transactions of nonsterling EPU area in matrix tables.)
- PHL—the fleet of merchant vessels registered in Panama, Honduras, and Liberia.
- RSA—Rest of Sterling Area, i.e., Sterling Area (as defined by U.K. Exchange Control) except U.K. (including Ireland and Iceland).
- Sterling-oriented countries—Rest of Sterling Area (excluding Iceland), Thailand, Indonesia, Iran, and Ethiopia.
- U.S.-oriented countries—Canada, Latin America (except Argentina, Paraguay, and Uruguay), Netherlands Antilles, Japan, Philippines, Taiwan, South Korea, Israel, Saudi Arabia, and Liberia.
- Western Europe—United Kingdom and Continental OEEC countries.