This PDF is a selection from an out-of-print volume from the National Bureau of Economic Research

Volume Title: Tax Policy and the Economy, Volume 6

Volume Author/Editor: James M. Poterba, editor

Volume Publisher: The MIT Press

Volume ISBN: 0-262-66077-6

Volume URL: http://www.nber.org/books/brad92-1

Conference Date: November 19, 1991

Publication Date: January 1992

Chapter Title: Front matter to "Tax Policy and the Economy, Volume 6"

Chapter Author: James M. Poterba

Chapter URL: http://www.nber.org/chapters/c10836

Chapter pages in book: (p. -11 - -6)

TAX POLICYAND THE ECONOMY6

edited by James M. Poterba

National Bureau of Economic Research The MIT Press, Cambridge, Massachusetts Send orders and business correspondence to: The MIT Press 55 Hayward Street Cambridge, MA 02142

In the United Kingdom, continental Europe, and the Middle East and Africa, send orders and business correspondence to: The MIT Press Ltd. 14 Bloomsbury Square London, WC1A 2LP ENGLAND

ISSN: 0892-8649 ISBN: hardcover 0-262-16130-3 paperback 0-262-66077-6

Library of Congress number 87-644377

Copyright Information

Permission to photocopy articles for internal or personal use, or the internal or personal use of specific clients, is granted by the copyright owner for users registered with the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) Transactional Reporting Service, provided that the fee of \$5.00 per copy is paid directly to CCC, 27 Congress St., Salem, MA 01970. The fee code for users of the Transactional Reporting Service is: 0892-8649/92 \$5.00. For those organizations that have been granted a photocopy license with CCC, a separate system of payment has been arranged.

© 1992 by The National Bureau of Economic Research and The Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

NATIONAL BUREAU OF ECONOMIC RESEARCH

Officers:

George T. Conklin, Jr., Chairman Paul W. McCracken, Vice Chairman Martin Feldstein, President and Chief Executive Officer Geoffrey Carliner, Executive Director Charles A. Walworth, Treasurer Sam Parker, Director of Finance and Administration

Directors at Large:

John H. Biggs Andrew Brimmer Carl F. Christ Don R. Conlan George T. Conklin, Jr. Kathleen B. Cooper Jean A. Crockett George C. Eads Martin Feldstein George Hatsopoulos Lawrence R. Klein Franklin A. Lindsay Paul W. McCracken Leo Melamed Robert T. Parry Peter G. Peterson Douglas Purvis Robert V. Roosa Richard N. Rosett Bert Seidman Eli Shapiro Donald S. Wasserman

Directors by University Appointment:

Jagdish Bhagwati, Columbia William C. Brainard, Yale Glen G. Cain, Wisconsin Franklin Fisher, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Jonathan Hughes, Northwestern Saul H. Hymans, Michigan Marjorie B. McElroy, Duke

Directors by Appointment of Other Organizations:

Marcel Boyer, Canadian Economics Association Rueben C. Buse, American Agricultural Economics Association Richard A. Easterlin, Economic History Association Gail Fosler, The Conference Board A. Ronald Gallant, American Statistical Association Robert S. Hamada, American Finance Association James L. Pierce, California, Berkeley OPEN, California, Los Angeles Andrew Postlewaite, Pennsylvania Nathan Rosenberg, Stanford Harold T. Shapiro, Princeton Craig Swan, Minnesota Michael Yoshino, Harvard Arnold Zellner, Chicago

omics Charles Lave, American Economic Association OPEN, National Association of Business Economists ic Rudolph A. Oswald, American Federation of Labor and Congress of

Industrial Órganizations Dean P. Phypers, Committee for Economic Development Charles A. Walworth, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants

Directors Emeriti:

Moses Abramovitz Emilio G. Collado Thomas D. Flynn Gottfried Haberler Geoffrey H. Moore James O'Leary George B. Roberts Willard L. Thorp William S. Vickrey

Since this volume is a record of conference proceedings, it has been exempted from the rules governing critical review of manuscripts by the Board of Directors of the National Bureau (resolution adopted 8 June 1948, as revised 21 November 1949 and 20 April 1968).