This PDF is a selection from a published volume from the National Bureau of Economic Research

Volume Title: Innovation Policy and the Economy, Volume 2

Volume Author/Editor: Adam B. Jaffe, Josh Lerner and Scott Stern, editors

Volume Publisher: MIT Press

Volume ISBN: 0-262-60045-5

Volume URL: http://www.nber.org/books/jaff02-1

Conference Date: April 17, 2001

Publication Date: January 2002

Title: Front matter, acknowledgments

Author: Adam B. Jaffe, Josh Lerner, Scott Stern

URL: http://www.nber.org/chapters/c10782

Innovation Policy and the Economy 2



Innovation Policy and the Economy 2

edited by Adam B. Jaffe, Josh Lerner, and Scott Stern

National Bureau of Economic Research Cambridge, Massachusetts

The MIT Press Cambridge, Massachusetts London, England NBER/Innovation Policy and the Economy, Number 2, 2002

ISSN: 1531-3468

E-ISSN: 1537-2618

ISBN: Hardcover 0-262-10093-2

Paperback 0-262-60045-5

Published annually by The MIT Press, Cambridge, Massachusetts 02142

An electronic, full-text version of NBER/Innovation Policy and the Economy is available from MIT Press Journals when purchasing a subscription.

Subscription Rates

Hardcover/Print and Electronic: \$58.00

Paperback/Print and Electronic: \$25.00

Outside the U.S. and Canada add \$10.00 for postage and handling. Canadians add 7% GST.

Subscription and address changes should be addressed to:

MIT Press Journals, Five Cambridge Center, Cambridge, MA 02142-1407; phone 617-253-2889; fax 617-577-1545; e-mail journals-orders@mit.edu. Claims will be honored free of charge if made within three months of the publication date of the issue. Claims may be submitted to journals-claims@mit.edu. Prices subject to change without notice.

In the United Kingdom, continental Europe, and the Middle East and Africa, send back volume orders and business correspondence to:

The MIT Press, Ltd., Fitzroy House, 11 Chenies Street, London WC1E 7ET England; phone 44-020-7306-0603; fax 44-020-7306-0604; e-mail info@hup-MITpress.co.uk.

In the United States and for all other countries, send single copy and back volume orders to: The MIT Press, Five Cambridge Center, Cambridge, MA 02142; toll-free book orders phone 800-356-0343; fax 617-625-6660; e-mail mitpress-orders@mit.edu.

Copyright Information

Permission to photocopy articles for internal or personal use, or the internal or personal use of specific clients, is granted by the copyright owner for users registered with the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) Transactional Reporting Service, provided that the fee of \$10.00 per copy is paid directly to CCC, 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923. The fee code for users of the Transactional Reporting Service is: 1531-3468/02 \$10.00. For those organizations that have been granted a photocopy license with CCC, a separate system of payment has been arranged.

© 2002 by the National Bureau of Economic Research and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

This book was set in Palatino by Wellington Graphics, Westwood, Massachusetts.

Printed and bound in the United States of America.

National Bureau of Economic Research

Officers

Carl F. Christ, Chairman
Michael H. Moskow, Vice Chairman
Martin Feldstein, President and Chief
Executive Officer
Susan Colligan, Vice President for
Administration and Budget and
Corporate Secretary
Robert Mednick, Treasurer
Kelly Horak, Controller and Assistant
Corporate Secretary
Gerardine Johnson, Assistant
Corporate Secretary

Directors at Large

Peter C. Aldrich Elizabeth E. Bailey John H. Biggs Andrew Brimmer Carl F. Christ John S. Clarkeson Don R. Conlan George C. Eads Martin Feldstein Stephen Friedman George Hatsopoulos Karen N. Horn Judy C. Lewent John Lipsky Michael H. Moskow Alicia H. Munnell Rudolph A. Oswald Robert T. Parry Peter G. Peterson Richard N. Rosett Kathleen P. Utgoff Marina v. N. Whitman

Martin B. Zimmerman

Directors by University Appointment

George Akerlof, California, Berkeley Jagdish Bhagwati, Columbia William C. Brainard, Yale Michael J. Brennan, California, Los Angeles Glen G. Cain, Wisconsin Franklin Fisher, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Saul H. Hymans, Michigan Marjorie B. McElroy, Duke Joel Mokyr, Northwestern Andrew Postlewaite, Pennsylvania Nathan Rosenberg, Stanford Michael Rothschild, Princeton Craig Swan, Minnesota David B. Yoffie, Harvard Arnold Zellner, Chicago

Directors by Appointment of Other Organizations

Mark Drabenstott, American Agricultural Economics Association Gail D. Fosler, The Conference Board A. Ronald Gallant, American Statistical Association Robert S. Hamada, American Finance Association Robert Mednick, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants Angelo Melino, Canadian Economics Association Richard D. Rippe, National Association for Business Economics John J. Siegfried, American Economic Association

David A. Smith, American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations
Josh S. Weston, Committee for Economic Development
Gavin Wright, Economic History
Association

Directors Emeriti

Thomas D. Flynn Lawrence R. Klein Franklin A. Lindsay Paul W. McCracken Bert Seidman Eli Shapiro

Since this volume is a record of conference proceedings, it has been exempted from the rules governing critical review of manuscripts by the Board of Directors of the National Bureau (resolution adopted 8 June 1948, as revised 21 November 1949 and 20 April 1968).

Contents

Introduction ix Adam B. Jaffe, Josh Lerner, and Scott Stern

- 1 Some Economic Aspects of Antitrust Analysis in Dynamically **Competitive Industries**
 - David S. Evans and Richard Schmalensee
- 2 Intellectual Property: When Is It the Best Incentive System? 51 Nancy Gallini and Suzanne Scotchmer
- 3 Government Support for Commercial R&D: Lessons from the Israeli Experience Manuel Trajtenberg
- 4 Prospects for an Information-Technology-Led Productivity Surge 135 Timothy F. Bresnahan
- 5 Do We Have a "New" Macroeconomy? 163 J. Bradford DeLong

