Call for Abstracts

21st Annual Health Economics Conference (AHEC)

Lehigh University, Bethlehem, PA, October 15-16, 2010

This invitational conference will facilitate the exposure and discussion of cutting edge research in health economics. We invite both theoretical and empirical papers on health economics topics, and encourage participation of economists in all fields whose current research focuses on health care issues. Papers will be chosen primarily for their originality, innovativeness, and rigor. We would like to devote part of the conference to our theme in health financing reform and universal coverage so encourage submissions especially in those areas.

The cost of meals for presenters and discussants will be paid by the conference sponsors. All other expenses, including hotel accommodations and transportation, are the participants' responsibility. Exceptions may be made if these expenses represent a significant barrier in attending. Lodging expenses may be paid contingent on our obtaining external funding.

Interested researchers should submit an abstract (maximum of two pages) by July 1, 2010, in an electronic format (PDF preferred) to inLUahec@lehigh.edu. Please include "Abstract submission" in the subject line.

Those invited to participate in the conference will be notified by July 31, 2010. Submitted papers should be unpublished. Completed papers <u>must be received</u> by the conference organizers by September 15, 2010. For further information, please see the conference web site at http://www.lehigh.edu/martindale/programs/2010AHEC.html. Contact Prof. Art King (art.king@lehigh.edu) or Prof. Shin-Yi Chou (syc2@lehigh.edu).

Hosted by
Martindale Center for the Study of Private Enterprise,
Department of Economics,
College of Business and Economics
Lehigh University

AHEC Steering Committee:

James F. Burgess, Jr. (Chair; VA; BU School of Public Health)
David Bradford (U GA)
Jose Escarce (RAND; UCLA)
Thomas Getzen (Temple U;Executive Director, IHEA)
Jonathan Ketcham (ASU)
Michael Morrisey (U of Alabama-Birmingham)
Dennis Scanlon (Penn State University)
Sally Stearns (UNC-Chapel Hill)
Theodore Stefos (VA; BU School of Public Health)