

AMY N. FINKELSTEIN RECIPIENT OF THE 2008 ELAINE BENNETT RESEARCH PRIZE

Amy N. Finkelstein is the 2008 recipient of the Elaine Bennett Research Prize. This prize will be given to her at the annual business meeting of the American Economics Association's Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession (CSWEP) on Saturday, January 3, 2009, from 5:00-6:00 pm in the Golden Gate 4 Room of the Hilton San Francisco Hotel. A reception will follow in the Golden Gate 5 Room to honor Professor Finkelstein and the winner of the 2008 Carolyn Shaw Bell award. It is not necessary to register for the AEA/ASSA meetings to attend these two events.

Professor Finkelstein, a Professor of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, works at the intersection of public economics and health economics. She has found creative ways to identify the impact of changes in health care policy, such as the introduction of Medicare, the variation in tax subsidies for health insurance purchase, and the reform of federal liability rules relating to the vaccine industry, on health insurance and the utilization of medical services. Her path-breaking empirical work will influence the policy debate on the design of public interventions in health insurance markets in both the near term and over longer horizons. Professor Finkelstein received her Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 2001 and is a Research Associate and Co-Director of the Public Economics Program at the National Bureau of Economic Research. Prior to joining the MIT faculty she was a Junior Fellow at the Harvard Society of Fellows (2002 – 2005). She earned her Masters in Philosophy at Oxford University and completed her undergraduate degree, *summa cum laude*, at Harvard University.

The Elaine Bennett Research Prize was established in 1998 to recognize and honor outstanding research in any field of economics by a woman at the beginning of her career. The prize is given in honor of Elaine Bennett, who mentored many women economists at the start of their careers and made significant contributions to economic theory and experimental economics during her short professional career. The previous winners of this prize are Monika Pazzesi of Stanford University, Marianne Bertrand of the University of Chicago, Esther Duflo of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Susan Athey of Harvard University and Judith Chevalier of Yale University.

CSWEP represents women's points of views in the committee work of the American Economic Association (AEA), monitors the progress of women within the profession, and makes an annual report to the AEA on the status of women in economics. CSWEP associates are women and men in the diverse areas of the profession – in academe, government and business.

For further information, please contact: Barbara M. Fraumeni, Chair of CSWEP (cswep@usm.maine.edu) or visit CSWEP's website (www.cswep.org