This PDF is a selection from an out-of-print volume from the National Bureau of Economic Research

Volume Title: Foreign Trade Regimes and Economic Development: India Volume Author/Editor: Jagdish N. Bhagwati and T. N. Srinivasan Volume Publisher: NBER Volume ISBN: 0-87014-531-2 Volume URL: http://www.nber.org/books/bhag75-1

Publication Date: 1975

Chapter Title: Appendix B: Indian Terms and Units

Chapter Author: Jagdish N. Bhagwati, T. N. Srinivasan

Chapter URL: http://www.nber.org/chapters/c4526

Chapter pages in book: (p. 249 - 250)

Indian Terms and Units

Indian Units.

I crore: 10 million.

1 lakh: 100,000.

Tonne: metric ton; 1 tonne is equivalent to 1.096 U.S. tons.

Indian fiscal year: runs from April 1 to March 31. When a year is given in hyphenated form (e.g., 1952–53), it refers to the fiscal year. The calendar year is referred to by just one number (e.g., 1952).

Political Institutions and Parties.

Lok Sabha: Lower house of the Indian Parliament.

Rajya Sabha: Upper house of the Indian Parliament.

- Estimates committees of the Lok Sabha: These committees generally undertake an evaluation of the various ministries and departments of the Government of India. In practice, the reports of these committees promote the accountability of the executive branch of the government to the Parliament.
- Communist Party of India (CPI): The Moscow-oriented Indian Communist Party.
- Communist Party-Marxist (CPM): The CPM was formed after the Chinese invasion of 1962. Its orientation is neither Soviet nor Chinese.
- Communist Party-Marxist-Leninist (CPML): The CPML is militant in its ideology and violent in its tactics. It is most active in West Bengal, especially in Calcutta. It is Mao-inspired.

- Congress Party (Ruling): The faction of the Old Congress Party with a left-ofcenter program, which was swept to power under Mrs. Gandhi's leadership after the general elections of March 1971.
- Congress Party (Organizational): The faction of the Old Congress Party with the older leadership.
- Dravid Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK): The political party with a regional basis in the state of Tamil Nadu in South India with Madras as the capital.
- Jan Sangh: The right-wing party drawing its inspiration from Hindu cultural traditions and nationalist aspirations.
- Praja Socialist Party (PSP): The socialist impact of this party, formed in 1952, was nullified mainly as a result of the socialist program of the Congress Party under Nehru's leadership.

Swatantra Party: The right-wing party of private enterprise.

Samykta Socialist Party (SSP): The socialist party under the colorful leadership of the late Ram Manohar Lohia, with a largely agitational approach.