This PDF is a selection from an out-of-print volume from the National Bureau of Economic Research

Volume Title: Tax Policy and the Economy, Volume 3

Volume Author/Editor: Lawrence H. Summers, editor

Volume Publisher: MIT Press

Volume ISBN: 0-262-06126-0

Volume URL: http://www.nber.org/books/summ89-1

Conference Date: November 15, 1988

Publication Date: 1989

Chapter Title: Front matter to "Tax Policy and the Economy, Volume 3"

Chapter Author: Lawrence H. Summers

Chapter URL: http://www.nber.org/chapters/c10941

Chapter pages in book: (p. -11 - -6)

TAX POLICYAND THE ECONOMY3

edited by Lawrence H. Summers

National Bureau of Economic Research The MIT Press, Cambridge, Massachusetts

Send orders and business correspondence to: The MIT Press 55 Hayward Street Cambridge, MA 02142

In the United Kingdom, continental Europe, and the Middle East and Africa, send orders and business correspondence to: The MIT Press Ltd. 126 Buckingham Palace Road London SW1W 9SD England

ISSN: 0892-8649 ISBN: hardcover 0-262-06126-0 paperback 0-262-56051-3

Copyright Information

Permission to photocopy articles for internal or personal use, or the internal or personal use of specific clients, is granted by the copyright owner for users registered with the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) Transactional Reporting Service, provided that the fee of \$5.00 per copy is paid directly to CCC, 27 Congress St., Salem, MA 01970. The fee code for users of the Transactional Reporting Service is: 0892-8649/89 \$5.00. For those organizations that have been granted a photocopy license with CCC, a separate system of payment has been arranged.

© 1989 by The National Bureau of Economic Research and The Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

NATIONAL BUREAU OF ECONOMIC RESEARCH

Officers:

Richard N. Rosett, Chairman George T. Cornklin, Jr., Vice Chairman Martin Feldstæin, President Geoffrey Carliner, Executive Director Charles A. Walworth, Treasurer Sam Parker, Director of Finance and Administration

Directors at Large:

John H. Biggs Andrew Brimmer Carl F. Christ George T. Conklin, Jr. Kathleen B. Cooper Jean A. Crockett George C. Eads Morton Ehrlich Martin Feldstein George Hatsopoulos Franklin A. Lindsay Paul W. McCracken Leo Melamed Geoffrey H. Moore Michael H. Moskow James J. O'Leary Robert T. Parry Peter G. Peterson Robert V. Roosa Richard N. Rosett Bert Seidman Eli Shapiro Harold Shapiro Donald S. Wasserman

Directors by University Appointment:

Charles H. Berry, Princeton Bill Brainard, Yale James Duesenberry, Harvard Ann F. Friedlaender, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Jonathan Hughes, Northwestern Saul Hymans, Michigan Marjorie McElroy, Duke James L. Pierce, California, Berkeley Andrew Postlewaite, Pennsylvania Nathan Rosenberg, Stanford James Simler, Minnesota William S. Vickrey, Columbia Burton A. Weisbrod, Wisconsin Arnold Zellner, Chicago

Directors by Appointment of Other Organizations:

Richard Easterlin, Economic History Association Bruce Gardner, American Agricultural Economics Association Robert S. Hamada, American Finance Association Robert C. Holland, Committee for Economic Development David Kendrick, American Economic Association Eric Kruger, The Conference Board Ben Laden, National Association of Business Economists Rudolph A. Oswald, American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations Douglas D. Purvis, Canadian Economics Association Dudley Wallace, American Statistical Association Charles A. Walworth, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants

Directors Emeriti:

Moses Abramovitz Emilio G. Collado Solomon Fabricant Frank W. Fetter Thomas D. Flynn Gottfried Haberler George B. Roberts Willard L. Thorp

Since this volume is a record of conference proceedings, it has been exempted from the rules governing critical review of manuscripts by the Board of Directors of the National Bureau (resolution adopted 8 June 1948, as revised 21 November 1949 and 20 April 1968).



۰. غد

.